Should I? Or shouldn’t I?

I received a very nice email from a nice-looking man, who also seemed very decent. He was respectful in his introductory email, which is not always easy to come by when you’re on a sexually-based “dating” website such as AFF. He even seemed somewhat intelligent and to top it off, he was not a “butterface.”

I gave him my (super-secret) email address and told him that was the best way to reach me. So, he emailed me from his work email address. Again, nice, decent, classy, intelligent. Being a woman of the 21st Century and knowing for a fact that the nicest, most decent seeming guy can be a wolf in sheep’s clothing, I Googled some information in his signature.

And, I found his mugshot from 2010. Some trespassing stuff even though he’d been warned as well as some resisting arrest without violence. Probably something to do with drinking (he looked wasted in his mugshot) and some woman drama. Upon closer examination of his photographs, he looks like the type who would date a hot chick, but not hot as in sexy and smart. Hot as in strippers.

Who knows, maybe he used to have issues and has since cleaned things up? Then again, the arrest was in 2010, so he would be newly cleaned up, and that’s not a big enough buffer for me. But, being that I know what I know, I’m not going to give him the benefit of the doubt because I don’t know him and I don’t know anyone else who knows him. He’s not even local.

Do you Google your dates? If not, why? I Google everyone. It’s how I’ve found out that people were married, or lying about who they said they were (why lie if you are innocent? and seriously, it shows someone’s true character). Of course, if I’m working with someone for awhile or am friends with someone (or maybe have some mutual friends) I’m not likely to Google him. But a stranger from the internet where the chances of him lying about something are like, 95%, yeah, I’m gonna Google the fuck out of him!

2 thoughts on “Should I? Or shouldn’t I?

  1. I am a googler for sure! And if I cant find anything I get more information from the prospect so I can find them or I dont ever meet them. There are too many crazies out there and just because you find normal non-crazy shit does not gaurantee they arent crazy, but it at least gives you SOMETHING to make a decision with. I also give every bit of information to my closest girlfriend before I go meet someone just in case. It makes me feel better.

Talk to me!

