Too bad

I went on another date with that guy.

He invited me to his place for dinner.  My BFF told me he was probably expecting third date sex.  I argued that it was the second date.  The first date was a meeting, not a date.  Doesn’t count.  But maybe she was right?  So, not wanting to deal with denying sex with a guy I wan’t sure about, I tried to suggest something else.  Didn’t work.

I wasn’t afraid, it was just that 1. I wasn’t sure how I felt about him relationship-wise, 2. regardless of relationship feelings, I didn’t find him particuarly sexy (i.e., he wasn’t FWB material), and 3. this was the deciding date — if I still didn’t feel “it” for him, I wasn’t going to see him again and if I got caught up in the sex, it would have made it difficult to end it.

When I arrived at his place, I knew we weren’t going to be a good match.  He is so “upper class-suburb” without a grain of creativity or character.  His bathroom was matchy-matchy with a golf theme.  Even the rug was golf-themed.  I sneaked a peek at his bedroom, which was ocean-themed, complete with a bucket and tools to play in the sand (that wasn’t used — it was for decoration only).  It hit me that he was the guy who had the big, new, cheap house in the suburbs.  He was most comfortable on cruise ships and in resorts while traveling, and was basically just one big, boring cliche.

As always, the conversation was good.  That was one thing we could do . . . talk.  But, as he is hard of hearing in one year, I had to talk loud unless I wanted to be annoyed with a lot of “pardon mes?” and sometimes he just wouldn’t understand what I said and that would lead to corrections and confusion.  Talking loudly gives me a headache.

At this point, I was ready to go and I knew for sure he wasn’t the one for me.  Great guy and so nice though, I couldn’t just eat and run, so I accepted his invitation to sit on the sofa.  We talked some more, while he kept trying to go in for a kiss.  Can you say awkward?  Finally, he did, and I half-heartedly kissed him back.  His hand started up my shirt and darted at my crotch.  I kept my legs crossed.  Then I said I had to go.  He climbed on top of me and kinda straddled me.

If the wind blows the right way, I get horny, and I’m not afraid to go for it.  But this was not working for me.  Not at all.  I repeated myself a few times and he finally got the hint, but asked when he could see me again.  I told him to call so we could discuss.  He invited me on a beach trip this weekend.

The next day I emailed him and told him that while he was great and I really wanted to like him in that way, I just didn’t.  End of story.  He was very sweet about it in his reply.  And, that was that.

Talk to me!

