Loving and loathing Craigslist

I mentioned awhile back that I was ghosted from Craigslist (CL) because I posted ads, got flagged (by assholes) then, out of irritation would re-post the same ad, which would also get flagged, so it was assumed I was spamming . . . and the vicious cycle continues.

Believe it or not, I’ve met some great guys on CL.  Cute, successful, nice, great in bed . . .  I’ve had better luck there than on Match, OK Cupid and POF combined.  You have to be adept at reading people through their writing, and I think I am.  Recently I’ve been answering CL ads in the M4W section, in both the Long Term Relationships (LTR) and Casual Encounters (NSA) sections.  Most men won’t post a photo on their ad or they post a body shot.  I’ve seen enough hairy bellies and FUPAs to last a lifetime!  I rarely respond to posts with those types of images but I have replied to posts without images and 99.9% of the time have been severely disappointed when I receive a photo in reply. 

Posting my own ad has been, by far, the best way to go.  If I could get around the flagging and the bullshit, CL would be a dream come true.  I think guys are just hesitant to post a face photo and know that image-less ads don’t generate much traffic, so they are more likely to respond to ads.  I don’t like to throw my face on CL, either.  Being a woman, though, you can just throw a boob up there, even just part of a boob, and your inbox will literally blow-up. 

For shits and giggles I placed a quick ad on CL last night, in the NSA section.  I just wanted to see if it would publish.  It did and before I knew it I had nearly 30 replies.  Then 40.  Then 50.  The ad lasted maybe 15 minutes before it was flagged to death.  I wasn’t impressed with any of the responders. 

I have to wait to re-post my ad so I don’t get ghosted again.  In the meantime, I’m trying to figure out what I’m doing to get flagged to death.  Upon further review and digging through the CL help section, I found this link which seems to sum up all the reasons I get flagged, which is such bullshit.

Apparently, in order to have a successful ad that’s not flagged by all the dick-heads in this town, one must follow these rules (this is a Cliffnotes version of the link above):

  • Don’t post your ad more than once a week, or you will get flagged, even if it’s a different ad.  Someone will figure it out.
  • Don’t ask for too much out of men.  They feel inadequate and by flagging you, they feel much, much better. 
  • No lists of ‘do-not-wants’.  They feel inadequate and by flagging you, they feel much, much better. 
  • You must reply favorably to every email, therefore not hurting anyone’s poor wittle feelings.  If you don’t, they will feel inadequate and by flagging you, they feel much, much better. 
  • A photo must accompany an ad.  If not, that will just piss them off, even though in the M4W section no one posts images.
  • Don’t say you’re ‘curvy’ or ‘voluptuous’ because that makes the men mad since they think you really mean ‘fat’.  And whatever you do, do NOT say you are a BBW.  God, this one is stupid.
  • Don’t make your ad too long because that will annoy them and then they get all mad and hit the flag button.  If you seem too smart, they will feel inadequate and by flagging you, they feel much, much better. 

What does a girl have to do to get laid in this town?

3 thoughts on “Loving and loathing Craigslist

  1. maybe I don’t know how good I’ve had it… i’ve never joined a dating site, a singles site, or posted anything on Craig’slist….and then I read the post you wrote…and I sat back laughing so hard at the definition of “FUPA” from urban dictionary… wow.. umm… yeesh….I gotta ask other guys about this thing…

    I thought you were out for more than just getting laid girly-girl…

    T.

  2. Pingback: What’s up? | 36 and Single

Talk to me!

