I’m getting some balls

I decided today is the day I grow a pair and start making the first move.  In online dating anyway.

I have always been the kind of girl to let men approach me.  I think that in order for a relationship to work, a man has to feel like he is the one in pursuit.  I emphasize the word feel because that’s the key word here.  Not all men are made of confidence and sometimes they can be just . . . clueless.  So, if you are interested in him, you have to put yourself in front of him.  Make it obvious you’re interested, but dont pursue.  There’s a fine line.  I don’t call it a game, I call it a strategy.

Of course, there are men who like to be pursued, but I’ve never met one myself.  Or, maybe I’ve never been attracted to one.  I’m not sure.  Either way, the men I tend to date are driven and ambitious, and I think if things come to them easily, they aren’t appreciated.  They are up for a challenge, and I think they value the prize more when made to work for it.

I’m kind-of a believer in The Rules.  There, I said it.  But, this is for a whole other post . . .

I’ve re-written my ad (for the 20th time — again, for a whole other post), thrown some updated photos in there, and am going to have a new attitude about online dating.  I’m going to put myself out there.  Make an effort.  The last time I did that, I failed miserably, and it was a real ego buster.  This time, I say, to hell with it.  I have nothing to lose.

2 thoughts on “I’m getting some balls

  1. After a horrible divorce left me reeling and the sole supporter of my (then) little boy, I decided that 1) if I was going to date I was 2) always going to be me, my authentic self. I was tired for the b.s and the games and just wanted whomever I met to know exactly what they were getting into. Most ran, one didn’t. He stepped into it, pursued, and my boy fell in love with him long before I did .. we’re married nearly 20 years now. I’m glad I took that approach because it is the most “real” relationship I’ve ever had. (see my post called “It had to be you” for more of our story).

    Be exactly you … and the right him will find you 🙂 MJ

Talk to me!

