I can’t believe I’m quoting J Lo

I never (seriously, NEVER, not in a million years) thought I would quote Jennifer Lopez in any way, shape or form.  But, her quote regarding her recent split with husband, Marc Anthony, resonated with me.  Deeply.  Though I’m over my Ex as a human being (if you can call him that), I’m not over the relationship.  I’m not over the way I handled it (staying too long and allowing someone to treat me that way) and what it did to me (still assessing the damages).  I’m clawing myself out of this deep, dark hole, re-finding myself and trying to put the pieces back together.  I know I’m getting there.  I know hurt, betrayal and disappointment takes time to get over.  But sometimes, when I see or hear something like this, it makes me get inside my own head again.  That’s not a bad place to be, because I need to remember this place and learn from it, for the future.

“It’s not that I didn’t love myself before,” Lopez, 42, tells Vanity Fair in its September issue. “Sometimes we don’t realize that we are compromising ourselves. To understand that a person is not good for you, or that that person is not treating you in the right way, or that he is not doing the right thing for himself – if I stay, then I am not doing the right thing for me.”

She adds, “I love myself enough to walk away from that now.”

3 thoughts on “I can’t believe I’m quoting J Lo

  1. You know .. I thought the same as you did, that she sounded really well-grounded and like a woman who knows who she is and what she deserves and that this .. this just wasn’t working for her.

    Thoughtful post & all the best as you move forward with your life!

    Cheers, MJ

  2. I’m 36 and my ex broke up with me last July…I had moved with him to his home country and things changed.. he became controlling.. but I thought we would work it out.. then one day he said he wasn’t in love with me anymore..
    Which is a cop out as far as I see things..he’s week and though I think I do deserve a stronger man…I miss my ex and the bond we had and I’m so tired and wonder will I ever fall in love the way I did with him.. I’m doing well, but I still cry alone every single day.. I just don’t know how to move on and forget him.. the pain and sadness is too much sometimes. I want him to come running back to me and say sorry and tell me he will work on himself.. he was the love of my life or so I thought

Talk to me!

