Dates

My online profiles (Match.com, OK Cupid and Plenty of Fish) are up and running.  I put up a few new images, and changed my profile to be less demanding, less intimidating and less sexual.  It’s bland, really.  I took down my “MySpace photo” (per OK Cupid’s scientific research, men are most attracted to the “MySpace photo” — self-made photos looking directly into the camera and flirting).  I just couldn’t do it.  I’m 36 not 22. 

The good news is that I’m receiving more responses, and not just from the young guys (looking to get laid) or the fat rednecks that unfortunately seem to make up the majority of the Portland Metro area.  That doesn’t mean I’m getting anything good, mind you, but at least it’s not pissing me off on a regular basis.  I have a potential meeting/date next week.  He’s going to call me first because he can’t stand a screecher (WTF?) and he hopes I’m nice.  He invited me out for tea, which sounds totally gay.

4 thoughts on “Dates

  1. Haha love your post! Even as a British girl tea sounds a little gay. But I agree, ‘fierce’ photos tend to get you pictures of guys dicks or invitations to go and ‘watch a dvd’ at a strangers house. One tip – try and be funny and original. The number of profiles I read that say ‘love cuddling up on the sofa with a glass red’ is ridiculous!

    I look forward to your future posts!

  2. Online dating is like walking through the carnival midway. Occasionally you find some gem hidden behind a curtain or under a tent, but mostly it’s a mixed of freaky, broken hearted misery, and parlor games.

Talk to me!

