The follow-up

Sunglasses Guy never did get back in touch with me.

There’s no reason to fall off the face of the earth.  He’s got to know that at the very least, I’m curious (which I am) as to why he went from texting me before bed, first thing in the morning and in the moment his plane’s tires touched the runway to . . . crickets.  It’s just rude!  And hurtful! In my world you don’t do that. And, though I’d like to be cool and be all “Sunglasses Guy, who?”  I’m just not.  I think he should know that I do care, because I do.  And, I think he should know that it’s not cool to do that to a person, because it’s not.  So, I decided that I needed to let him know that yes, I did notice how everything went silent, and yes, I do care.

First, I had to determine when to contact him.  Waiting two weeks to get in touch would make me seem psycho, like I’d been waiting and waiting for him to contact me.  A few days – that would be psycho, too, or at the very least, demanding.  Finally, I settled on the rest of the week.  Chances are, work was kicking his ass and he needed to wait until the weekend to finally get in touch with me.  So, that’s what I did.  I waited until Sunday evening, when most people are back from whatever, just chilling and getting ready for the week ahead.

Second, I had to figure out what to write.  I couldn’t be pissed, otherwise, all he’d think was that he was so glad he cut bait when he did.  I also couldn’t whine or cry about it because that would be pathetic.  Anyway, I’m not mad and I’m not sad . . . I’m just . . . disappointed.  Afterall, we never even met.

So, I emailed him on Sunday evening.  He knows I blog about my life but doesn’t have a clue where or that’s it’s specifically about dating.  I think the email shows my curiosity, disappointment and surprise.  But I don’t think I come across as a stalker (which, for the record, I’m not).  And, I wanted it to be somewhat light-hearted, non-accusatory (because I can think of lots of reasons this happened, and several of them involve other women, but I don’t want to point fingers) and maybe even a little funny.

Without further ado, the email:

I wrote a blog post about this guy I’d been communicating with on a regular basis for a couple of weeks.  It seemed like we might really hit it off — at the very least, we’d have a good time and most likely end up friends.  When it came time to meet in person . . . he completely disappeared.  No explanation.  Nothing.  Gone.

Anyway, as you know, I’ve been looking for blog fodder and this one turned out pretty good.

So . . . ummm . . . thanks. I guess.

5 thoughts on “The follow-up

  1. Dearest “girl of silence”,

    Some men disappear when their flirty conversation turns real and it’s time to meet up. He probably had a girlfriend or a wife or something… Either way, it sounds like he completely missed out on a fabulous girl… 36 is a wonderful age for a girl…and Most 36 year olds are comfortable in life and still find dating a bit of a hassle but ultmately they are happy… I enjoy dating them and they seem to be always engaged in great ideas about conversation and active things to go do, so naturally I’m drawn to that age bracket.

    As for Mr. Silent treatment…well don’t give him the time of day….even writing a little blurb to him was a bit too much and it gives him power when he doesn’t derserve another opportunity with a wonderful girl…

    So sit back…realx…chill a bit… I plan on reading more about you but am in a time crunch to beat out this tropical storm nearing the island chain I live on. The weather guy say tropical storm , . we islanders prepare for hurricanes…

    I hope things pan out well for you…am interested in reading your story… let’s hope it’s a good one…

    T.

    • Thank you, “T”. Yes, the email was more than he deserved . . . nonetheless I feel better. So, that’s a plus.

      I agree with you, 36 is a good age. I think I’ll stay this way for awhile. : )

      - J.

  2. Just found your blog and looks like it is one I would enjoy (so far!) I’ll have to get caught up…
    Thoughts on this post – I agree that maybe when it became time to meet he just got cold feet because then it became ‘real’. Or maybe he found your blog? And btw, if he puts what you wrote to him into google search – he will find your blog.

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      I doubt he found my blog. Even if he did, I don’t think there is anything here (yet) for him to worry about. And, yes, I did consider that he could google a thing or two and find me, but it’s not a concern, really. I agree that he may have gotten cold feet. I have some feelings about things . . . not like it really matters, right?

      - J.

  3. meh, that boy isn’t about to find your blog…. I’m looking forward to more adventures girl so don’t make me wait long! If I’m always doing something wild and crazy I can only imagine a person in a much bigger urban environment with an unlimited amount of options to peruse….me? I only have a huge-assed ocean and a lot of rum to place on the catamaran…lol

    T.

    T.

Talk to me!

